The Full Moon

Page 1 of 9 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

The Full Moon

Post by Rogue on Fri Jun 13 2014, 18:54

Full Moon On Friday The 13th Won't Happen Again Until 2049
The Huffington Post  | By Sara Gates


A full moon will fall on Friday the 13th this year.

For the superstitious, June 13 this year will be extra-spooky.

That's because the full moon is set to fall on Friday the 13th, a rare occurrence that won't happen again for 35 years.

The moon will reach its fullest point at 12:11 a.m. EDT on June 13. Observers in the Central, Mountain, and Pacific time zones may feel a bit left out, however, since this June full moon (also known as the "Honey Moon" or "Strawberry Moon") will turn full late Thursday night. But the moon should still offer a brilliant view -- weather permitting -- for skywatchers on Friday evening.

The last time a full moon coincided with Friday the 13th was October 13, 2000.

What makes the event such a rarity? It occurs only when three independent variables line up -- -- the moon phase, the weekday, and the day of the month.

As Vox noted, "the odds of a year having a Friday the 13th full moon are just 5.81 percent. That means it happens, on average, every 20 years or so."

Since the next full moon to fall on Friday the 13th is not expected to occur until Aug. 13, 2049, skywatchers should make to sure to get a glimpse of the perfectly round moon this week.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/06/12/full-moon-friday-13th-2014_n_5488236.html


Last edited by Rogue on Fri Jun 13 2014, 18:58; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Rogue

Posts : 12884
Join date : 2014-06-12
Location : West Island, NZ

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Rogue on Fri Jun 13 2014, 18:57

The exact time of the next full moon is:
Friday * 13th June 2014 * 06:11:30 am
Central European Summer Time (CEST)
Moon sign: Sagittarius 22° 05'

Here you find this time converted into different timezones for other cities:
WELLINGTON = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 04:11:30 pm (NZST)
SYDNEY = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 02:11:30 pm (AEST)
TOKYO = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 01:11:30 pm (JST)
BEIJING = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 12:11:30 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 11:11:30 am (ICT)
DELHI = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 09:41:30 am (IST)
MOSCOW = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 08:11:30 am (MSK)
RIYADH = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 07:11:30 am (AST)
BERLIN = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 06:11:30 am (CEST)
LONDON = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 05:11:30 am (BST)
RIO = Sunday Friday 13th June 2014 * 01:11:30 am (BRT)
NEW YORK = Friday * 13th June 2014 * 12:11:30 am (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Thursday * 12th June 2014 * 11:11:30 pm (CDT)
LOS ANGELES = Thursday * 12th June 2014 * 09:11:30 pm (PDT)
HONOLULU = Thursday * 12th June 2014 * 06:11:30 pm (HAST)

_________________
 ................Like a Star @ heaven 
 ..Like a Star @ heaven........ Cross  Like a Star @ heaven 
 ................Like a Star @ heaven
avatar
Rogue

Posts : 12884
Join date : 2014-06-12
Location : West Island, NZ

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Agartha on Fri Jun 13 2014, 18:59

Ah......full moon, I understand the emotional beginning of the day now........I understand why I'm still very emotional!!!
avatar
Agartha
Admin

Posts : 9753
Join date : 2014-06-10
Location : Behind you.

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Rogue on Fri Jun 13 2014, 19:06

This is also known as the Harvest Moon, Rock was telling me...

_________________
 ................Like a Star @ heaven 
 ..Like a Star @ heaven........ Cross  Like a Star @ heaven 
 ................Like a Star @ heaven
avatar
Rogue

Posts : 12884
Join date : 2014-06-12
Location : West Island, NZ

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Rogue on Fri Jun 13 2014, 20:01


_________________
 ................Like a Star @ heaven 
 ..Like a Star @ heaven........ Cross  Like a Star @ heaven 
 ................Like a Star @ heaven
avatar
Rogue

Posts : 12884
Join date : 2014-06-12
Location : West Island, NZ

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by X on Fri Jun 13 2014, 20:26

I get super sexuated on the full moon.....

X

Posts : 3693
Join date : 2014-06-11

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Rockhopper on Sat Jun 14 2014, 02:43

Too much information Mr. W.  Shocked  Wink 

It was cloudy here last night but the Moon was bright behind the clouds.

Tim.
avatar
Rockhopper

Posts : 3954
Join date : 2014-06-13
Age : 73
Location : Island Paradise

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Kaere on Sat Jun 14 2014, 02:45

I would like it to be over now, please and thank you.
avatar
Kaere

Posts : 19985
Join date : 2014-06-10

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Agartha on Sat Jun 14 2014, 02:47

@Kaere wrote:I would like it to be over now, please and thank you.

What? Whitty's sexuation (as he puts it) or the full moon?



lol
avatar
Agartha
Admin

Posts : 9753
Join date : 2014-06-10
Location : Behind you.

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Kaere on Sat Jun 14 2014, 02:50

LOL... Whitty's sexuation doesn't bother me much... and it's completely understandable, what with him being half clam and all.

The full moon... I feel the need to go for a run.
avatar
Kaere

Posts : 19985
Join date : 2014-06-10

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Agartha on Sat Jun 14 2014, 02:52

half clam?..........hahahahahahahahahahahaha
avatar
Agartha
Admin

Posts : 9753
Join date : 2014-06-10
Location : Behind you.

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by X on Sat Jun 14 2014, 04:53

lol

I am proud of my clam heritage....

X

Posts : 3693
Join date : 2014-06-11

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Stirky on Sat Jun 14 2014, 04:54

I love full moons

*howl*

_________________
"But his voice filled my spirit with a strange, sweet sound. In that night there was music in my mind. And through music my soul began to soar! And I heard as I'd never heard before" ~ Christine Daae
avatar
Stirky
Admin

Posts : 6812
Join date : 2014-06-11
Age : 39
Location : Somewhere beneath the Opera House

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Rockhopper on Sat Jun 14 2014, 12:04

Mr.Whitmore wrote:lol

I am proud of my clam heritage....

Clamitage Mr. W?  Laughing 

Tim.
avatar
Rockhopper

Posts : 3954
Join date : 2014-06-13
Age : 73
Location : Island Paradise

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Kaere on Sat Jun 14 2014, 16:12

Hahaha!
avatar
Kaere

Posts : 19985
Join date : 2014-06-10

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Rogue on Sat Jun 14 2014, 19:56

I'm stealing this one from VM @ The Stream...

_________________
 ................Like a Star @ heaven 
 ..Like a Star @ heaven........ Cross  Like a Star @ heaven 
 ................Like a Star @ heaven
avatar
Rogue

Posts : 12884
Join date : 2014-06-12
Location : West Island, NZ

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Agartha on Sat Jun 14 2014, 20:33

Good, Rogue! Tell him to come here to get it back!!!
lol


Amazing picture....
avatar
Agartha
Admin

Posts : 9753
Join date : 2014-06-10
Location : Behind you.

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Nami4444 on Mon Jun 16 2014, 06:57

Captured this one I did...Smile

avatar
Nami4444

Posts : 761
Join date : 2014-06-15

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by X on Mon Jun 16 2014, 06:58

cool

great shot

X

Posts : 3693
Join date : 2014-06-11

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Kaere on Mon Jun 16 2014, 07:07

Wow, that's an excellent capture Nami Smile
avatar
Kaere

Posts : 19985
Join date : 2014-06-10

Back to top Go down

Re: The Full Moon

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 9 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum